Friday, June 2, 2023
HomeSportsDay 1 Highlights of England vs South Africa First Test: South Africa...

Day 1 Highlights of England vs South Africa First Test: South Africa reduce England to 116-6 before rain ends first day

England vs South Africa: Day 1 of the first Test between England and South Africa featured wickets from Kagiso Rabada, Marco Jansen, and Anrich Nortje for South Africa.

Kagiso Rabada, who was doubtful for the game due to an injury, made an excellent start, dismissing both England openers cheaply.

Anrich Nortje took three wickets as South Africa’s seamers ripped through England’s top order, leaving the hosts on 116 for six before rain brought the first test at Lord’s to a close on August 17.

England appeared to be bowled out for a low total before the weather intervened just six overs after the lunch break, preventing any further play.

England vs South Africa 1st Test, Day 1 Highlights

After England were reduced to 116/6, rain forced an early end to the day’s play. When play was called off for the day, Ollie Pope (61) and Stuart Broad (0) were at the crease. Earlier, on the first day of the first Test between England and South Africa at Lord’s on Wednesday, Ben Stokes was dismissed on the stroke of lunch, leaving his side perilously placed on 100-5. South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada once again proved his worth, dismissing openers Alex Lees and Zac Crawley after Proteas captain Dean Elgar sent England into bat.

Marco Jansen and Anrich Nortje took the prized wickets of Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow, with all four dismissed batsmen out in single figures as England fell to 55-4. England entered the game with a perfect record of four Test victories in a row under their new leadership duo of Stokes and coach Brendon McCullum. All of those victories came by chasing targets in the fourth innings, which will not be possible in this match after Elgar won the toss and fielded a green-tinged pitch under overcast skies

England’s starting XI is as follows: Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (w), Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, Matty Potts, and James Anderson.

South Africa’s playing XI is as follows: Dean Elgar (c), Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (w), Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and Lungi Ngidi.

Follow our twitter handle for more latest updates (2) Trend Topz (@TopzTrend) / Twitter.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments